Perspective is crucial

Since this is my first post on this page, I thought I would start it off with my most recent piece. I actually just finished it today.

DSC_1193_edited

For anyone that watches Doctor Who, you will know exactly who this is. That’s not what I want to focus on with this piece though, and honestly, focus may be the wrong word for this. Instead of getting closer, let’s take a step back, because to truly appreciate this stitching, you really do need to view it from more of a distance.

DSC_1194_edited

See what a change of perspective can do? It looks good up close, but something about it is just a little odd. Maybe it’s the empty spots in the stitching, or the fact that you can clearly see each stitch. Whatever it is, when I look at it up close, it bothers me a bit. Then I hold it out, or take a few steps back, and everything sort of comes together. What was a bunch of colored thread suddenly turns into a portrait… no, a work of art. Sometimes a slight change of perspective is all that’s needed.

6 thoughts on “Perspective is crucial

  1. This is gorgeous! I’ve been doing other Doctor Who-related creative arts (mostly blogging, music, and fanfic) but I hadn’t even thought of doing cross-stitch. It’s a craft I haven’t done in a while, though I have tons of materials for it. What tools did you use to create the pattern?

    • It’s actually a pattern that was in CrossStitcher magazine in the UK. I managed to dig it up online the other day. I’ve done at least one other Doctor Who cross stitch that I did make the pattern for though, and I used a program called KGchart (it’s free!) to make it. Colors can be off using it so I just have to use my judgement most of the times, but it does get me in the ballpark!

      • Thanks! I’ll look it up! I’ve found a couple of other pattern programs, but didn’t feel like paying for them. I hope you’ll post your other DW cross stitch – would love to see it!

      • I don’t blame you. That’s one reason I went for KGchart… well that and the fact that I’m on a Mac. I actually do have the other Doctor Who cross stitch posted on my facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/theneedleartist), so feel free to check it out there! I’m trying to space them out here on the blog so I don’t run out of posts in two days, lol.

Leave a Reply

